IET Awards for Medical Engineering – 2012

Jul 192012
Caution: This post is more than a year old. Be sure to check for more up to date information.
Three awards for students and researchers working in medical engineering are now open for entries.
William James Award – presented to the student whose PhD research shows the most potential to contribute toward the development and improvement of the biomedical engineering field. The 2011 winner was John James Wilson at the University of Essex with an entry entitled “The steady state visual evoked potential as a paradigm for viable brain-computer interfaces”.
Dennis Hill Award – awarded annually to the student on an MEng or MSc programme who has, during the past year, submitted the best project dissertation in the general field of healthcare technologies and cognate subjects (including biomedical engineering and health informatics). The 2011 winner was Alison Aird at the University of Strathclyde with an entry entitled “A non-invasive system for real time detection and treatment of sleep apnea episodes”.
J A Lodge Award – recognises promising early-career electrical engineers working in research and development within biomedical engineering. The 2011 winner was David Clifton at the University of Oxford with an entry entitled “Intelligent patient monitoring using novelty detection with extreme value statistics”.
In addition to valuable publicity, prizes include cash, a certificate and one year’s membership of the Institution of Engineering and Technology (IET). The closing date for each competition is 31st August 2012. Further details are available through the links above.